[Half] Marathon Monday #2

on

Every Monday I’m going to post a comprehensive update on my training. A recap of last week, with my mileages, pace, and a break down of what’s working and what I’ve learned; a look-ahead at this week’s training schedule; and then I thought it would be fun to finish with a song from my running playlist!

dancing

Week 1 Recap

Here’s how my schedule panned out.

  • Sunday: Rest
  • Monday: 3 miles
  • Tuesday: 3 miles
  • Wednesday: Yoga
  • Thursday: 4 miles + Yoga
  • Friday: 3 miles
  • Saturday: 3 miles

To give you an idea of where I’m at, my pace ranged from 11-11.5 minute miles. My struggle day (Tues) was closer to 12. Realistically, I’m hoping to run at an 11-minute pace for the half too.

Successes

  • Ran the scheduled mileage
  • Great distance run
  • Started to implement yoga, which has helped to reduce my soreness

mission accomplished

Lessons

  • Endurance over Tempo

If you read my recap of Tuesday’s run last week, you’ll know that I’ve decided to hold off on tempo runs and focus on building up my endurance. It’s too much, mentally and physically, to push myself for distance and speed right now. I’m hoping there will be some natural increase in speed as training progresses and I get more in-shape, but for now it’s just not realistic for me to focus on.

shrug gif

  • Flexibility

When I planned out my weeks, I decided just to list the mileages I wanted to complete for each week rather than specifically plan out each day and that has been a good call. It’s let me listen to my body and make adjustments according to my energy. It was nice to run out last week planning a normal 3 mile run and then deciding that I felt good enough to spontaneously push for my distance run. I probably won’t have that kind of flexibility as soon as I start working, but for now I’m going to take advantage of it.

no plans

  • Water

I need to drink more of it. Especially as my runs get longer. I really noticed my lack of hydration on my 4-mile run this week.

emma stone water

Week 2

My training schedule for this week:

  • 3 x 3 miles
  • 2 x 4 miles
  • 3 days of yoga
  • At least one total rest day

Playlist

One of my favorites, Hear Me Now — Alok, Bruno Martini, feat. Zeeba.

 

Leave a Reply

