Distance Run #1: 4 Miles

on

Yesterday I stepped outside and slammed straight into a wall of horrible, humid heat.

heat wave gif

Ok, so I might be exaggerating a little. But I was running right in the middle of the hot afternoon. I’m used to my evening, breezy runs. I suppose I’ll have to get used to it though. I’m moving to Texas soon, and it’s not exactly known for being a temperate climate.

What I thought was going to be a horrible run actually ended up being successful though! My legs were a bit resistant at first, but after the first mile I was feeling pretty good. So good I decided to go ahead and push to do my distance run for the week, 4 miles. The challenge was more mental than physical.

3 miles has been my standard run for years. There are checkpoints ingrained in my brain. I’m used to hitting 1.5 miles and thinking I’m halfway done. It wasn’t so difficult this time–it was only another mile–but I can already tell there’s going to be an adjustment as I go up to 5 and 6 miles.

After I finished, I did another Yoga with Adriene routine, the cool down sequence for runners. It definitely helped me stretch, even through my hips. So this will be a good one to keep doing throughout training.

One issue I noticed today was my lack of hydration. I don’t know if it was because I was running a bit longer of a distance or if it was just because of the extra heat, but I was parched. I didn’t even think about hydrating beforehand. I’m used to running on a campus or in a park where there are water fountains along the way.

I’m bad about hydrating in general. I pretty much run on Diet Coke.

diet coke gif

I really only drink water when I get back from my run. Today highlighted how much I need to hydrate throughout the day though, especially as my training progresses. I needed to get more water into my daily diet anyways, so this will be a nice, healthy side effect of my training.

One day I hope to be off soda entirely and drinking just water…one day…

no more caffeine

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

