Writing Wednesday #1

We’re just days away from Camp NaNoWriMo!

I’ve made it my goal to write 50,000 words. I so wanted to do NaNoWriMo in November, but with my dissertation and other assignments I didn’t have the time. But now it’s summer and even though I’ve got a bit of traveling in July it should be manageable.

storytime

I’ve got this teensy problem standing between me and a finished manuscript…

I can’t seem to get past Chapter One.

Beginnings are difficult for me and my inner editor has trouble letting me move on from scenes that are problematic.

shall not pass

I also fall victim to shiny new ideas.

shiny

But no more!!

I’ve got an idea, and I’m going to stick with it until it’s finished.

For my first Writing Wednesday I thought I would share some strategies I’m going to use to help me stick with my current manuscript so I can have a shiny new book instead of a pile of half-finished shiny new ideas gathering dust in the forgotten shadows of my Documents folder.

Brainstorm Key Plot Points

I’m more pantser than plotter, although I know that a lack of an outline (and the intense writer’s block that comes with that) is probably contributing to my difficulty finishing a manuscript. This time I’m going to compromise a little and think of a few key plot points to have in mind. As long as I vaguely know what’s ahead I should be okay to fill in the scenes that come between those major points. I think this is what Victoria Schwab calls road mapping.

World-building

Many times my writer’s block stems from my not knowing the logistics of my world. I’m conflicted about how I want to set something up, so I shelve the decision for later and it comes back to haunt me. I’ve spent much of my prep time world-building to avoid this kind of uncertainty hindering me as I write.

No Pinterest Mood Boards

If I’m struggling with a scene, I usually decide to take just a ‘quick little Pinterest break,’ because that’s still creatively productive right?

Novel aesthetic: 100%

Word count: 0%

tenor

So no mood boards for me.

This also extends to exploring Spotify to perfect my writing playlist. Especially considering I don’t even write to my writing playlist…

i'm cool

No Looking Back

No editing during drafting.

Zero.

Zip.

Nada.

Every day I’ll open up my word doc, scroll down, and write forward.

writing gif

Word vs. Scrivener 

I have Scrivener and I love it, but it’s just too easy for me to edit when I can section off chapter by chapter. I’m still going to have my world-building, characters, and plotting in a Scrivener file, but the writing, at least for the first draft, I’m going to do in Word.

Accountability 

I have a friend who looks over my writing for me, and she’s pretty tired of reading Chapter One. I gave her a couple options for premises and told her to pick the one I should stick with. Now if I call her and tell her I’ve changed my mind for the umpteenth time she’ll judge me.

juding

Judgement. It’s what friendship is for.

 

Let me know if you’re doing Camp this July! If you want to be NaNo writing buddies, my username is EmLately.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. tropequeen says:

    Are you me? Are one of us secretly cloned from the other? Because I am plagued by Chapter One syndrome and shiny new idea virus! I’m also much more of a pantser than a plotter, much to my annoyance.

    I’m aiming for 30k this camp, so fingers crossed. What’s your novel idea about? And good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Em says:

      Good luck to you too!! It’s a fantasy adventure, with magical archeologists. I’m trying to channel my inner Indiana Jones! What about you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. tropequeen says:

        That sounds fantastic! You’ll have to watch Indiana Jones for ‘research’.

        I’m writing a romance in a zombie, sort of apocalypse setting.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Em says:

        Oh definitely! 🙂

        That sounds cool!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

