When it rains, it pours

It rained on me for the entire duration of my run today.

rain gif

And then, purely to spite me, it stopped raining as soon as I was done.

EjyxD

But hey, at least I did it. Half a mile in, I was already soaked and irritated. I thought about just going home. I had passed my dad on the way out and he seemed surprised that I was heading out. Certainly no one could blame me.

As soon as I hit a mile, I seriously considered turning around. Two miles is a respectable run. Sure it wasn’t the three I had intended, the three I needed for my training, but considering the weather I should pat myself on the back for even making it at all.

yay me

But I wasn’t bargaining with myself because of the rain. I was bargaining with myself because it was hard.

I was supposed to do a tempo run and that just wasn’t happening. I was sore, the ground was too slick. I ended up having to alter my workout so I could make the distance. I stopped to walk a bit at each mile and made it to the full three. Barely. But I did it.

keep breathing

It was a bit disheartening. I’m so early in my training and I’m already feeling it. 13.1 miles seems so far away. But October is still a long way off, and I’ve grown since my last half marathon attempt. A year and a half ago, the last time I signed up for a half marathon, the moment a run became difficult to complete I decided I was done. I let training go because I was busy with school, because I was tired, because I thought it was too cold outside. Today I ignored the inconveniences and adjusted my run to fit my needs.

I think I’m going to have to adjust my training program in general. It seems too early to worry about speed when I’m struggling with distance. So from now on I’m going to focus on endurance and consistency. Getting out there and running, even when I don’t particularly feel like it, and making it to the end. Even though it would be nice to run at my goal pace, what really matters to me is crossing that finish line.

And getting the finisher’s beer stein.

finish line

 
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

