On the Run Again

on

Three and a half years ago, I ran a half marathon.

FullSizeRender 28

And I haven’t run one since. Oh, I’ve registered for a few, I’ve just never made it to race day. Classes, winter weather, travel, sickness–there’s always been some excuse I could throw between me and training.

I’m done making excuses.

let's do this

On October 22, I’m going to run my second half marathon. I’ve got a 17-week training program planned out. I based it on my own experiences, during my last half and in my years of running, and on schedules I found online.

I can already run three miles, but for the next few weeks I’m going to solidify that base and build my way up to five. From there, I’ll increase my long run by a mile every week or so until I hit 12. I’m running 5 days a week, mixing in some yoga and weight training, with one complete rest day every week.

Every Monday I’ll give a dedicated update, reviewing my training schedule and tracking my progress. Hopefully this will help me keep accountable!

self five gif

So, Week One schedule:

  • 4 3-mile runs (1 tempo, 3 endurance)
  • Distance run: 4 miles
  • 2 days yoga
Leave a Reply

